Linux File System 
Red Hat Linux has a hierarchical file system. The top-most directory—known as the root directory—of the file system contains several other directories, sometimes called sub-directories. Basic File system Hierarchy Standard (FHS) Directories.

The root directory, the top-level directory in the FHS. All other directories are sub-directories of root, which is always mounted on some partition.
Contains binary executable files used by user, administrator, and operating system.
Contains file required for booting the system
Contains files associated with the devices attached to the system
Contains configuration files of the application in the system.
Contains library files required by the executable files stored in /bin directory.
Contains mount point for the removable media attached to the system
Contains mount points for mounted file system.
Contains third party software application.
Contains files that represent the current state of kernel.
contains binary executable files used for system booting and recovery operation and not accessed by regular user.
Contains data files used by services, such as WWW and FTP
Contains files that represent the state of the kernel.
Contains user related files, program, and documentation.
Contains log files, error messages, cache data and other files.
Contains temporary files created by application, which are deleted at system reboot.
Each user on the system has a home directory. It is the location where the user arrives first logging in to the system.
Click Back..                                Click Home..